Newsflash: AfterTime bemoan a lost world!

Apple Music Badge – Buy with Amazon!

RockmusicRaider Newsflash - Aftertime - World We've Lost - Album CoverHa! Looks like 2017 got off to a juicier symphonic start than I expected. A few watery sunrays hit us already late last year with a couple of Symphonic Metal players turning in some pretty sturdy material. Even some of the ‘established’ bands, have seen the light and kicked it up a couple of notches. But of course not nearly enough to counter the same-same, but different legion that likes to dominate the genre. So, luckily we have some exceptions.

Now, these guys state their influences to be Nightwish, Within Temptation, Epica and Leaves’ Eyes – amongst others. And you know what? Well, yes – and yes, spot on. This is exactly what AfterTime present in their upcoming new EP World We’ve Lost. And hey, they did the name-calling all by themselves, not me this time.

Now, don’t get me wrong: That they somehow sound like Epica that got a dose of Nightwish injected with some cinematic urges does not turn them into some sort of a tribute brand. Quite to the contrary: Whilst they do not necessarily explore new territory, their Symphonic Metal prowess impresses with a complex tune and a – by and large – pretty good execution.

I’d like to point out the striking vocal powers of Sarah Wolf that are very reminiscent of the big names out there. Add to that a load of rugged riffing, some pretty discreet growls and a trifle orchestral bombast sprinkled over the soundscape. And you got yourself a pretty tasty platter of Symphonic Metal that will be a pleasure to devour. Now, some of that very short blurb is still a bit rough around the edges, but if an EP is indeed a teaser of what’s to come next, then we can expect something really good.

Why not check out a sample?

The Rochester, MN based band formed in 2011 and produced a first EP The Fall of Light in 2016. World we’ve Lost is their sophomore effort.

AfterTime are:
Sarah Wolf – Vocals

Chris Radke – Guitar
Brad Sturgis – Guitar
Patton Hudella – Bass
AJ Blakesley – Drums

The record will release on 20 January 2017. Now where is that full length album?

More raidin' for ye!

Speak Yer Mind!

The silence of the lambs. Raid the first comment, if you dare!

Notify of